Skip to content

Ingratitude And Poor Relief Pitching

October 6, 2020

The seven deadly sins are

  • Lust
  • Gluttony
  • Greed
  • Sloth
  • Wrath
  • Envy
  • Pride

I saw an old cartoon once that also induced included a manager talking to his baseball team who included

  • No relief pitching

The team reminded him that was eight sins.

“Scratch PRIDE”

If I were to add an additional sin, it wouldn’t be “no relief pitching.” Although my woeful Mariners have suffered that sin often enough. No, my choice would be ingratitude.

The seven sins, in my opinion, are personal. You might envy someone else. You might express wrath at someone else. But, your envy, your wrath, your lust? They don’t affect the object of your sins. In fact, you might not even know if you were the object of someone’s sins.

But ingratitude, like bad relief pitching, is obvious to those around you. And you can’t be ungrateful unless you first have something to be grateful for. Gratitude costs nothing. It only requires awareness, an understanding that someone or something helped you when they or it didn’t have to.

Ingratitude also takes something positive and turns it negative. Apathy, is much preferred to ingratitude. Apathy just means you don’t notice, or you don’t care. But, to choose ingratitude is to acknowledge the benefit and choose to set it at naught.

So, don’t practice any of the seven deadly sins. But, also remember to avoid ingratitude.

Oh, and hopefully next season the Mariners will repent of the sin of no relief pitching as well.

Stay safe

Rodney M Bliss is an author, columnist and IT Consultant. His blog updates every weekday. He lives in Pleasant Grove, UT with his lovely wife, thirteen children and grandchildren.

Follow him on
Twitter (@rodneymbliss)
Facebook (
LinkedIn (
or email him at rbliss at msn dot com

(c) 2020 Rodney M Bliss, all rights reserved

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply